Call 040-42014347 or 040-40216320 for Login Problems Email to for Quicker Support
Data Entry Instructions
Student Format
Teacher Format
Principal Hand Book
Download SVG Viewer

Related Links


Photo Gallery

District Map

Mahabubnagar is the second largest district in Andhra Pradesh in terms of area(18432.00 sq. km) covered. It is also known as Palamoor. Mahabubnagar district headquarters town was named after Mir Mahabub Ali Khan, the Nizam of Hyderabad. It is located between 160 and 170 N, latitudes and 770 and 790 E, longitudes. It is bounded on the north by Ranga Reddy and Nalgonda districts, on the east by Nalgonda and Guntur districts, on the south by the rivers Krishna and Tungabhadra and on the west by Raichur and Gulbarga districts of Karnataka State. The area of the district is 18,432 sq. kms.
Telangana forms the core of the Satavahana Dynasty (221BC-218 AD), Part of Chalukyan Dynasty in South India (between 5th and 11th century AD) and in the recent history, it formed the core of the Golconda State and Hyderabad State, ruled by Qutub Shahi Dynasty (1520-1687) and Dynasty (Asaf Jahi Dynasty) (1724-1948) until it was taken over by New Delhi in 1948. This region became independent and joined in the democratic India on 18th September 1948. Telangana constitutes 10 districts: Adilabad, Karimnagar, Nizamabad, Medak, Warangal, Khammam, Hyderabad, Rangareddy, Nalgonda, and Mahabubnagar districts.
Mahabubnagar is southern district of Hyderabad State under Nizam and bordered with River Krishna in the south and surrounded by the Nalgonda, Hyderabad, Kurnool, Raichur and Gulbarga districts.
This place was formerly known as "Rukmammapeta" and "Palamooru". The name was changed to Mahabubnagar on 4th December 1890, in honour of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan Asaf Jah VI, the Nizam of Hyderabad (1869-1911 AD). It has been the headquarters of the district since 1883 AD. The Mahabubnagar region was once known as Cholawadi or the land of the Cholas'. It is said that the famous Golconda diamonds including famous "KOHINOOR" diamond came from Mahabubnagar district.
Two important rivers, viz. Krishna and Tungabhadra flow through the district. The Krishna River enters Andhra Pradesh in Makthal taluk of this district and covers Makthal, Gadwal, Atmakur, Wanaparthy, Kollapur, Alampur and Achampet taluks. The Tungabhadra flows through the taluks of Gadwal and Alampur. The Dindi River, which is a tributary of the Krishna flows through Kalwakurthy and Achampet and joins the Krishna River, 18 miles east of Chandragiri. Pedavagu and Chinavagu are the other tributaries of the Krishna in the district.